C California Style

Endless Summer

by C California Style

An idyllic long weekend doesn’t always mean a trip to the airport. Here, four Golden State getaways:

 


BIG SUR

Carmel Mission. PHOTO; Blaine Harrignton III/Corbis.

Carmel Mission. PHOTO; Blaine Harrignton III/Corbis.

STAY Go glamping in one of Treebones Resort’s 16 yurts—think French doors that open to a redwood deck facing the ocean. treebonesresort.com.

DINE For a brunch of nine-grain pancakes, smoked salmon omelets and freshly squeezed orange juice mimosas, head to Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant. bigsurbakery.com. • Hearty filet mignon and seared duck breast top the menu at Deetjen’s Big Sur Inn. deetjens.com. • For dinner and drinks overlooking the ocean, Post Ranch Inn’s Sierra Mar is the place. postranchinn.com.

Treebones Resort. PHOTO: Kurt Simonson.

Treebones Resort. PHOTO: Kurt Simonson.

PLAY From personal retreats to yoga workshops, the Esalen Institute—and its cliff-side hot springs—is the perfect spot to escape. esalen.org. • An homage to Big Sur resident and Tropic of Cancer author, the Henry Miller Memorial Library is chock-full of the writer’s tomes. henrymiller.org. Just up the coast, take a self-guided tour of the Carmel Mission. carmelmission.org.
 


TOMALES BAY

Tomales Bay Estuary PHOTO; Tai Power Seeff/Stockbyte/Getty Images

Tomales Bay Estuary PHOTO; Tai Power Seeff/Stockbyte/Getty Images

STAY Rooms boast fireplaces and reading chairs at Manka’s Inverness Lodge. mankas.com.

DINE Don’t forget lemons and cocktail sauce for a picnic at Tomales Bay Oyster Company. tomalesbayoysters.com. • Cowgirl Creamery’s offerings include the coastal herbs and wildflowers accented Pierce PT. cowgirlcreamery.com. • Try the grilled tri-tip sandwich at The Marshall Store. themarshallstore.com.

Manka's Inverness Cabin PHOTO; Ralph Kylloe

Manka’s Inverness Cabin PHOTO; Ralph Kylloe

PLAY Tour the area via Marin Agricultural Land Trust’s many hikes, trips and tastings. malt.org. • Visit award-winning creameries followed by an alfresco picnic with The Cheese Lover’s Tour. foodandfarmtours.com. • Rent a SUP from Proof Lab and head to Richardson Bay. prooflab.com
 


LAKE TAHOE

Lake Tahoe. PHOTO: Tim Fitzharris/Minden Pictures/Corbis.

Lake Tahoe. PHOTO: Tim Fitzharris/Minden Pictures/Corbis.

STAY With a 17,000-square-foot mountain spa and a lap pool amidst the woods, you’ll never want to leave The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe. ritzcarlton.com.

DINE Reserve a spot at Edgewood Tahoe for pear foie gras starters and entrees of fresh king salmon with a maple mustard glaze. edgewoodtahoe.com.

The Ritz-Carlton. PHOTO; Courtesy of The Ritz-Carlton.

The Ritz-Carlton. PHOTO; Courtesy of The Ritz-Carlton.

PLAY The 45th annual League to Save Lake Tahoe Annual Fashion Show and Luncheon presented by Saks Fifth Avenue dazzles with looks from Oscar de la Renta. Aug. 2; keeptahoeblue.org. Unwind at the yoga and music-filled Wanderlust Festival in Squaw Valley. July 17-20; wanderlust.com.
 


CATALINA

Island Packers landing at Cueva Valdez. PHOTO: Tim Haug.

Island Packers landing at Cueva Valdez. PHOTO: Tim Haug.

STAY Venture to the nearby beach or take in the ocean view from your suite at Catalina’s Hotel Vista Del Mar. hotel-vistadelmar.com.

DINE Spanish-inspired paella and Moroccan-style shrimp tagine with apricots and couscous is served fresh at Seaport Bistro. seaportbistro.com.

The arch leading to Catalina Casino PHOTO; Gerald French/Corbis

The arch leading to Catalina Casino PHOTO; Gerald French/Corbis

PLAY Take an aerial tour of Catalina in an Island Express helicopter. islandexpress.com. • Raise a glass at Descanso Beach Club. visitcatalinaisland.com. • Parasail along Avalon beach with Island Water Charters. islandwatercharters.com. • Explore the nearby isles of Anacapa, Santa Cruz and Santa Rosa with Island Packers. islandpackers.com. • Newport Beach Sailing Charters offers round-trip treks. sailnewportbeach.com.

Anacapa Island. PHOTO: Diana Gonzalez.

Anacapa Island. PHOTO: Diana Gonzalez.