fbpx

C California Style

Katherine Ross. PHOTO: Stefanie Keenan.
Laura Cunningham. PHOTO: Stefanie Keenan.
Minnie Mortimer. PHOTO: Donato Sardella for Wireimage.

‘Tis the Season

by intern

From new traditions to secret shops, four CA style-setters reveal their holiday game plans.

Sabrina Buell
S.F. native Sabrina Buell of Zlot Buell + Associates is an art adviser and mother of two young children. Her holiday wish list offers the best of both worlds. TRADITIONS Deck the Hall at S.F. Symphony (sfsymphony.org)SHORT LIST Gutai: Splendid Playground (barnesandnoble.com).  Smythson (smythson.com) diaries in festive colors.  Tauba Auerbach wall clock made for The Thing Quarterly (thethingquarterly.com).  Delfina Delettrez Eye and Pearl ring (openingceremony.com)SHOPS March (marchsf.com) for pantry items. The Future Perfect (thefutureperfect.com) for design items. 871 Fine Arts (415-543-5812) for rare art books. Dandelion (dandelionsf.com) for wrapping paper and table decor.  Cotton Sheep (cottonsheep.com) for the coolest kids’ clothes from Japan

Laura Cunningham
Tastemaker Laura Cunningham masterfully runs Thomas Keller’s restaurant empire (Bouchon, French Laundry, Per Se), so when it comes to giving and receiving, she has her sights set on the kitchen. TRADITIONS French Laundry (frenchlaundry.com) open house, for a great day of food, family, music and vinoSHORT LIST Byredo perfumes (barneys.com). Sieger Egg by Fürstenberg egg cup (store.tkrg.com). Jennifer Meyer jewelry (jennifermeyer.com). SHOPS Finesse (store.tkrg.com), our new retail store in YountvilleBirch (birchsf.com) for beautiful candles and vases. Heath (heathceramics.com) in Sausalito.  The Marin Country Mart (marincountrymart.com) for family gifts.  TableArt (tableartonline.com) has the best table decor.

Minnie Mortimer
Clothing designer Minnie Mortimer has an affinity for all things California, so it’s no surprise her favorite gifts hail from fellow Golden State creatives. TRADITIONS This year we want to start a new one and cut down our own tree (nancysranch.com)! SHORT LIST Clare V. (clarevivier.com) monogrammed travel backgammon set and catch-all.  Sugar Paper (sugarpaper.com) monogrammed notecards. Roseark (roseark.com) ringsSHOPS Turpan (turpanonline.com) at the Brentwood Country Mart.  Nathan Turner Living (nathanturner.com) for the homeThe Acorn Store (theacornstore.com) for wooden children’s toys.  Hennessey and Ingalls (hennessyandingalls.com) for art books

Katherine Ross
Katherine Ross’ corporate fashion background made her a perfect fit for her most recent gig as the curator of Wear LACMA, in collaboration with Net-A-Porter. TRADITIONS Ice skating at Pickwick Ice in Burbank (pickwickgardens.com)SHORT LIST Rodarte (openingceremony.us) T-shirtsThe Elder Statesman (elder-statesman.com) pashmina handkerchiefs.  James Turrell: A Retrospective by Michael Govan and Christine Y. Kim (thelacmastore.org).  Cathy Waterman (cathywaterman.com) jewelrySHOPS Gratus (gratus.com) in Beverly Hills. Jill Roberts (jillroberts.com) in Santa Monica. Des Kohan (deskohan.com) just off Wilshire Blvd.  Andy Griffith and Rose Apodaca’s A+R (aplusrstore.com). Kendall Conrad (kendallconraddesign.com) on Abbot Kinney

Edited by Samantha Traina.